UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com

 

 

WH Smith Ratings:
   
  Value Value Rating
  Design Design Rating
  Service Service Rating
     
 

WH Smith Movies Direct DVD Rental

 

.We still prefer the originals at Lovefilm, but WH Smith is one of their better affiliates.

Visit WH Smith DVD Rental Site


Customer Comments for WH Smith DVD Rental

Tom from London, March 27, 2007

It's the same old story, service is great in the free trial period. A constant stream of DVD's every 2 days, which lures you into thinking it's a great service. Then as soon as the honeymoon period is over, and I do mean that day, it all goes very slooooooow. They don't seem to be receiving them back as quick, and they don't send them anywhere near the amount as before. And I'm getting wrong discs sent, which I never did before. It's a stupid ploy really because you can cancel at any time, so surely if they keep up the service as before the customer would stay longer. - I think WHsmith and me are about to part. Shame really

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Andrew from Kent, June 24 , 2006

Everything started well, the DVDs arrived promptly and I was averaging 2 per week. But then the disc despatch slowed down. I queried this with WH Smith by email and I received a prompt response saying that they were operating their fair use policy i.e. deliberately not sending my next disc to me. I think they were just trying to reduce their postage costs by slowing down the rentals.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ron from London, March 22 , 2006

Excellent value and swift deliveries. Agree that new releases can take a bit, but you do get a continuous stream of DVDs through the letterbox, especially good for catching up on TV series (watching Lost that way was great!

Definitely a good option, Smith's High Street reputation doesn't let them down in DVD rental.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Steve from Pontypridd, March 18, 2006

On the whole, WH Smith DVD rental is a very good value for money company. All the new releases I wanted I have received upon request take for example Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire - high demand due for release on Monday 20th March 06, it has been shipped today Saturday 18th March 06 so will be here on Monday. Another was Dukes of Hazzard released 09/01/06, I got it on the 12/01/06.

The site isn't quite so 'shiny' as other sites but the layout is straightforward rather than clever - you want the DVD, click "Rent now" and it changes to "added" none of this which order and stuff, you can change the order in your queue.

Having saying that though, they do fall down on the queue; most of the time they get the order right, but sometimes, they do choose at will.

I have been with ScreenSelect and to put it nicely, they were awful, not sending in order, giving extended waiting periods - don't go there.

I had my first month's rental trial in January and am now on my second month's paid subscription which is also cheaper than the parent company's subscription.

I have only contacted customer services once, I received a reply within four hours, not bad but not good. The freeze account option is a nice touch as well.

I think in short, if you want a decent company, go with WH Smith DVD rental.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Joe from Livingstone, March 7 , 2006

Great for the first 3 weeks then they operated a go-slow, I elected a 'unlimited' 3 discs at home package but it seems they don't like high users. I complained, duly resigned and received this reply..

"Thank you for your recent email. I am sorry to hear you are unhappy with the service you are receiving.

We always do our best to get our customers the next discs they want as soon as possible. In fact, 75% of what we ship each day is to customers whose previous rentals arrived earlier that day.

However, we do operate a Fair Use Policy that aims to ensure a balanced experience for all our members. This means that we give priority to members who don't rent high numbers of discs from us. Therefore, members who rent the most discs from us might experience lower mailing priority. By allocating discs in this way we ensure a fair system for all members.

The Fair Use Policy is in our Terms and Conditions and available for you to read simply by clicking on the Terms and Conditions link at the bottom of the home page.

Should you require any further assistance, please do not hesitate to contact us."

So there you are, WH Smith advertise 'unlimited' but appear to be limiting mailing to high users. What's the point of electing to have 3 dics at home if WH Smith are effectively calming mailing priorities?

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Phil from Banbury, February 10, 2005

Its very annoying when they ask you to compile a list of DVD's you want in priority and then completely ignore the priority. I tried to get them to send me a couple of DVD's I really wanted by removing all others and leaving just my main requirements, all that happended was I stopped getting DVD's altogether. When I phoned up to discuss this with them they basically told me that the DVD's were very popular and didn't have them avaialble to send out!!! Would High Street DVD chains survive with responses like this? I think not.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ramona from Middlesex, December 15 , 2005

Please, please don't let yourself be fooled into getting Lovefilm or their affiliates' service. It's the worst company ever. You never receive any of your Top 15 titles, you pay for unlimited DVD rental 3 at a time, but receive 3 at the most a week, it takes them at least 2 days to send you another title after they've received the disk back.
Take my advice and go for Blockbuster or Tesco. Believe me I've tried them all. They're much faster and you don't have to send the disks back BEFORE cancelling. What a waste of time and money that is when you could get another 3 disks to watch in the meantime!!!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ross, October 6 , 2005

Like other reviewers I thought the service good initially, however after a couple of months I was consistently receiving titles outside my top 15 (which was not full of popular new releases).

When I joined the 1-disc fee was 9.99 per month but was soon cut to 7.99. I thought this was great until I noticed they were still charging me 9.99! I had to tell them to change it.

They also claim to offer a fast-track facility where they will hold a disc for you for up to 48 hours - this is subject to numbers in stock and I have yet to see this option on any of the titles in my rental queue.

Their turnaround time seems to be getting slower - it's often at least 1 or 2 days till they send the next disc, so although they claim to give you unlimited rentals in reality it's fixed to about 1 per week for the 1-disc package.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul from Stoke, September 23, 2005

Like most comments about WH Smith, the service starts off great, then after a few months the rentals virtually stop.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Robert from Glasgow, August 18, 2005

During my free trial the discs kept coming through the letterbox and I thought what a great company,(following the dreadful experience of Global Video). I joined for a year - big mistake. As soon as they had my money I received a max. of 3 discs a week, some weeks only receiving 1 disc. This company has a policy of reduced delivery if you try to exceed what they think is a reasonable number of rentals.

Only subscribe if you never exceed 3 discs a week.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Helen from Durham, August 11, 2005

I have been with whsmith for 3 months, for the 1st 2 months i was extremely pleased with the service, i only had 1 disk which was too damaged to play. however in the 3rd month i noticed a very significant slow-down in the time it was taking to get my next disk allocated. typically all my disks would be registered as returned on a monday, 1 would have 1 disk sent out on wednesday evening and the next 2 on thursday (but only 1 of the 2 would arrive the next day). before this, new disks were being allocated as soon as mine were returned. have contacted customer services who were v polite but there has been no improvement. will be cancelling and returning to screen select at end of month

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ferhat from London, August 2, 2005

I put over 40 titles and they dont have any of them. Unbelieveable this is, also I put about 8 titles at the beginning of my trial and now I have come to end of my trial and still haven't recived them.The only good thing is when they send a title you recive it the next day.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jim from Teeside, June 14, 2005

They were ok until about 3 months ago when they went down the pan. I would try elsewhere.....

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jon, June 14, 2005

I I have had 6 kayaking DVDs at the top of my queue for 6 months! and I have a 3 disk subscription. I have complained 3 times, but keep getting told there are on order. I will be taking it further.

Customer Service - Very poor

Delivery a little slow. Can not recommend at this time - go elsewhere.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mike from Doncaster, June 7, 2005

It took 3 days before my first rental then they only sent one 2 days later 2 arrived following week only received one for that week and the more you complain the worse it gets

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Terry from Herts, May 16, 2005

Subscribed to WH Smith since March 05. Started off rather well and was receiving most of my top requests. Agreed with Marty on the decline in service for Lovefilm affiliates. The service had definitely gone down hill after May Day bank holidays. The return system has changed whereby we are no longer able to view the date when they received back our discs. I suspect that the company have become so popular that they couldn't cope with the demand. Or maybe there's a cap on the number of DVDs per week.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Return to WH Smith Review Page

Visit WH Smith DVD Rental Site

 
Add Your Comments on WH Smith DVD Rental

You: (ie, John from Essex)
Email address: (won't be kept, but required to deter spammers)

Please rate WH Smith on the following criteria:

Value? . Design? . Customer Service?

Your Review:

By submitting you agree to our Policies on visitor comments

Online DVD rental prices and terms change frequently; check the company website for the latest.

UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com is not responsible for any losses resulting from the information provided (see Disclaimer). If you do spot a discrepancy, please email us and we'll update the site.

 

UK eReader Guide

UK Diet Review

 
HomeRental BasicsVideo Games RentalNews/LinksWhat's NewSite MapContact/Link to Us
 

The views and opinions expressed on the site are our own, and we have not been given free subscriptions, products, or other compensation to publish them. Some of the reviewed companies offer affiliate commissions, but these do not influence our reviews or rankings, which we keep open and unbiased. Our recommendations are made on the merits of a product or service, as we review based on our experience, education, and background. At our discretion we may accept third-party advertising, but this does not constitute our endorsement.

Copyright 2005-2017© UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com. All Rights Reserved