UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com
 
Screenselect Ratings:
   
  Value Value Rating
  Design Design Rating
  Service Service Rating
     
 

Screenselect DVD Rental

 

.The best-designed and run DVD rental site in the UK in its day--since merged with Lovefilm

Visit Lovefilm DVD Rental Site


Customer Comments for Screenselect DVD Rental

Michael, May 21, 2006

I joined SceenSelect nearly 2 months ago. Several DVDs that they supplied were of very poor quality and wouldn’t play. They were supposed to replace them but when it came to it I received the same non-playable DVDs.

I selected several new DVDs, (‘King Kong’ and Stargate Atlantis vol 2) over 6 weeks ago but still haven’t received them. My subscription is £5.99 per month for 2 DVDs monthly but I haven’t received a single DVD from ScreenSelect in the last month. When I complained and asked to refund the money, their representative Angus told me that their ‘allocation system’ works this way! They, probably haven’t got enough of recent releases… Poor service and bad (if any) value for money!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Yolanda from Stirling, February 14, 2006

I like Screenselect's site and they get lots of DVDs through the letterbox, just wish some of the newer films came a bit quicker. But I'm not complaining, the price per DVD rental is much cheaper than what you pay at your local Blockbusters.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Matt from Cambridge, February 13, 2006

Have enjoyed a month of free DVD rentals after seeing Screenselect top the list on this site, and have to say I've been very iimpressed. I'd been leery about getting into DVD by post, but finally took the plunge at a friend's recommendation. Can't speak for the rest of the DVD rental companies for comparison as I haven't tried them, but I certainly found these guys excellent. It's neat to figure how much you're saving. I figure I was almost down to a quid per disc, well, assuming I was paying for this first month, but you get the picture, much cheaper than goin round to the rental shop.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Alex from Norwich, February 13, 2006

Can't argue with the prices, choice or web site but the state of their DVDs is appalling, of the 12-13 films I have had, 1 played with no problems. Very poor packaging scratches and marks them. Sorry but not good enough.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

George from Cardiff, February 13, 2006

Excellent site, better than the other online rental places I've tried, and I've tried a few--for the price you will get alot of DVDs. The packaging seems fine to me, like several other companies use, haven't had a problem with scratched discs. The only minor problem, why I gave them 3 stars, is their availability of new releases. But then that seems to be an issue with most online rental places, not just Screenselect. For other than new releases, they're 5 stars in my book.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Chris from Wolverhampton, February 11, 2006

Can't argue with the prices, choice or web site but the state of their DVDs is appalling, of the 12-13 films I have had, 1 played with no problems. Very poor packaging scratches and marks them. Sorry but not good enough.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Kari, February 8, 2006

i like movies

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Fiona from Glasgow, February 2, 2006

I'm new to online DVD rental, but after subscribing for a month, have to say I'm very impressed with Screenselect's service. Definitely reccomend it. The DVDs keep coming through my letterbox as I watch them, and I've even gotten some new releases like 40 Year Old Virigin quick, though to tell the truth I'm still waiting for some others, so I give them 4 stars for service. But I'm not so bothered, as they've certainly hit a bunch of films from the past couple years in a hurry, and I find my list growing over 40 discs, despite watching maybe 3-4 DVDs a week! I can't speak for the other companies as I haven't tried them and don't want to take the time to play the free trial game, but Screenselect do what they say on the tin.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Dennis from London, December 10, 2005

There are some cheaper companies out there, but I think Screenselect are still the best. I've tried Lovefilm (poor customer service) and Blockbuster (better than your guide gives credit, but still, not as good) as well as Amazon (rip-off with their very limited packages--like they're not serious about online rental) and Screenselect wins hands down. My only complaint is you'll have to wait for new releases--so just accept that limitation straight off, but then I've found that with all the companies.

Definitely worthy of a free trial, and if you can't be bothered to comparison shop the rest, they're a good one to stay with as well.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from Slough, November 18, 2005

I don't see the need to look further down your table; these guys really have been spectactular; okay, haven't got Hitchikers Guide to the Galaxy out to me yet, but it's still new, so I can understand that, have gotten plenty of other recent titles like Sin City and Madagascar. Seriously, I was skeptical after hearng about mail rentals, but now the only time I'd go to a rental store is if I wanted to see a specific movie on a specific night. Cool site.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ron from Brighton, August 22, 2005

I've trialled DVD365 (okay), Blockbuster (bad), and Amazon (great, but personally found monthly limits too low), but Screenselect is definitely the best so far. Their turnaround has been very quick, and their interface is excellent. It has been mentioned that they send two disc sets in order, so you don't get screwed with the end before the beginning--and this is a plus. They also have good descriptions and ratings, all the standard stuff. I'm still free trialling, but so far, these are the ones I'd go back to and subscribe with.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Don from Glasgow, July 20, 2005

I switched from Lovefilm last month, and the difference in service is like night and day. Disc shipping was much quicker, which was enough to win me over. I don't want to hop from one servce to another, and their 2 disc at a time service is enough for me, has been going just fine. It's the little differences, like emailing to tell you they sent your top-ranked choices (happens fairly frequently, though new releases definitely take longer, butnot as long as Lovefilm). Also, I like how they will send you a series or trilogy in order--hated getting the Exorcist 2 before Exorcist 1 on Lovefilm for example, even though I'd ranked the second installment much lower on my list.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rob from Preston, July 20, 2005

I joined Screenselect about four months ago and had a great first month or so, the turnaround time was great (6 titles a week) However, this slowly dwindled and I have had two to three a week up until now. My rental list is 171 titles with no priority. I have a selection of some new releases but mostly older titles. They could basically send me any of the 171 in any order and they still take three days to find anything for me. I have sent several e-mails and recieved automated replys that didn't answer my questions. Called the number and the member of staff wasn't even interested in why I was cancelling my membership. Seems these guys care more for the new customers on a trial than anyone else.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Christina from Newcastle, July 19, 2005

Good company, I like how they email to say when they mail titles out, and their site is a dawdle to use. I don't like how long it takes to get new releases (took two weeks to get Lemony Snicket despite being at the top of my list), but I suppose I'd have that problem with any rental company.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Fredric from Luton, July 19, 2005

Initially, turnaround was fast. I managed to get 22 movies in the first month on the 3-DVD-at-a-time package. But since then, it's been much slower, sometimes taking 2-3 days for a disc to be allocated after the previous one was returned. It's definitely going downhill.
I am looking a going for another service.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mike from Bedford, July 12, 2005

Great at first but I cancelled after they sent me the same film three times. This is despite telling them they had sent it twice. After telling them and sending it back after the second time they sent it straight back out as my very next rental. I will always give people a second chance after a mistake (and on some occasions a third) but to make the SAME mistake STRAIGHT away is not good enough. I'm going back to LOVEFILM on my hands and knees !

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jay from Cambridgeshire, July 7, 2005

I've been with them for six months with very few problems, after migrating over in frustration from Blockbuster (AVOID). It's the little touches, like the series function that gives you discs in the right order, or the subscription suspension function that you can use when on holiday. There are a couple things I'd change. The only thing I miss about Blockbuster is the ability to rank your DVD choices by number, rather than in three priority categories as SS allows. But that's a minor thing, overall have been very pleased with level of service.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Andy from Staffordshire, July 6, 2005

Another site that does really well in the free trial then quickly dips to very poor when you start paying. You rarely get 3 DVD's out at a time, 2 maximum and not many top titles. Also when you cancel, and you will, do it well in time, I returned my last film on the billing day and they charged me another month even though I'd cancelled 5 days before.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mugsy from Prescott, July 6, 2005

Really cannot fault the service as like clockwork I receive my 3 DVDs at regular intervals ..... nearly always my first choices as well I am totally happy with the way the company appears to be operating.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Bill from Peterborough, July 5, 2005

Screenselect aren't perfect, but I would agree they are the best of the bunch now that Lovefilm is struggling and DVD 365 are being taken over. They're at least fast, though you won't get all your high priority choices all the time, especially not new releases, but then that problem affects all the postal rental companies.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jonathan from Leigh-on-Sea, July 3, 2005

Started off perfectly but went seriously downhill after 3 months on the one disc unlimited package. The final straw for me was waiting 14 days to be allocated a disc (40 titles on my list) and no response from SS customer services. In all fairness to SS when I cancelled they did appologise and offer extra discs free of charge but this was too little too late and the damage was done.

Having tried a couple of other companies subsequently I'd say SS are probably the best of a bad bunch, but they still have some way to go if they want to maintain longer term custom.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jim from Luton, July 2, 2005

I tried Blockbuster first, but got fed up with their service, and switched to Screenselect based on this site's review - have to say it's been a great choice. They're quick, reasonably priced, especially at the 2-disc tariff, and other than the newest releases which can take a bit, I seem to get my top choices pretty regularly. Definitely deserve 5 stars in my book.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Shaun from South Wales, July 1, 2005

I totally agree ith everything Katy says.

I joined Screenselect 6 months ago, and yes at first they were very good, but after a month the service rapidly deteriorates, out 73 titles received only 5 have been from my top choices the rest were films added just to bulk out the list.

I currently have 85 titles in my list and have been waiting two days for them to allocate me a title. So yes use the free trial, but after that move on.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Bill from Glasgow, June 29, 2005

It seems people either rates sites as totally crap, or perfect. I can see why you guys rate Screenselect as 5 stars, because I agree they are the best company out there, and so set the top of your rating scale. But they are not quite perfect, and I'd give them slightly lower Value (simply because there are some cheaper, though also crappier) and Service ratings (4.5 stars if I could, as they do have a phone line that works, but don't always get new releases to you in a hurry).

Bottom line, if you're expecting the perfect DVD rental company, this is not it because it doesn't exist, but Screenselect probably is the best of the bunch.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ron from Brighton, June 16, 2005

There are some slightly cheaper services out there (I know, I'm trialling some, and it shows), but if you're not a free trial tart and want a single, reliable service, this is the top choice.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from Reading, June 12, 2005

Excellent service and website, but agree with Kate that it can take awhile to get new releases, and you do need a range of DVDs you'd "kind of like to see one day" to pad out your list to ensure they rapidly keep coming. Haven't had any problems on turnaround time as long as I keep 15+ films on my list.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Kate, June 7, 2005

I signed up to Screen Select last year, the initial trial was very impressive, I got all the new releases and the turnaround was very efficient.

However when I signed up (3 disc package) the service changed and I found that unless I put older movies or TV series DVD's on my list, I could go days without being sent anything.

The quality of service now seems to fluctuate, some weeks it's okay and I get a new release, other weeks he 'awaiting allocation' shows on my list for a couple of days before I'm sent something ancient from the list.

Screen Select doesn't seem to have enough copies of new and recent releases, I've been waiting to see 'Blessed' since it came out in April. I usually have to wait 4-9 weeks for a new release.

I've had Lemony Snickets on my list since it was released two weeks ago, by the end of July I might have seen it! Here's hoping :)

I can't understand why Screen Select gets such good reviews. The website's not that good, you can't rank which movies you want and have to wait an enternity for new releases.

If you like old films and can fill your list up with them, great, but if like me you just want to watch the new releases, you'll need a lot of patience.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ed from Cambridgeshire, June 4, 2005

I've tried several companies now, after an initial debacle with Blockbuster, and these guys are definitely the best. The review above covers most of this; great website, speedy service, customer support phone line that works, but what really set them aside for me (a free trial tart), is that it was easy to cancel the subscription. The cancel link wasn't hidden, and it was a few clicks and no more fuss. No charges I had to fight to get rid of, no arcane system where you must have all your DVDs back first.

I'm going to try some more free trials on principle, but so far, these are definitely the best and the ones I'll be returning to for the long haul.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Martyn from Dudley, June 3, 2005

Delivery fairly quick, but rarely got top selections.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mandy from Edinburgh, May 13, 2005

Had no real problems with them, fast shipment, well laid out website, but going on to trial a few more sites before settling on one...

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Arnold from Warwick, May 3, 2005

These guys are a vast improvement over Blockbuster, better-designed site, quicker mailings, fewer scratched discs, etc. Decided to stay on for at least a bit after the free trial, and so far haven't noticed any slowdown in service others have referred to. I'll probably try Lovefilm and DVD 365 just to get a sense for what the other big rental companies offer, but I'd definitely recommend Screenselect to someone based on performance thus far.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Scott from London, April 27, 2005

The turnaround of discs has become slow recently since the trial period has ended.  I have never received a reply when i have emailed tech support twice.  The problem solver tool is great for when discs are lost in the post.  A decent selection of DVD's but they dont carry as many rare DVD's as Lovefilm do.  The DVD priority selection isnt as good as Lovefilm either.  They advertise loads of coming soon DVD's that never arrive so it is a false representation of their disc catalogue.  However, in their favour, no discs have arrived from Screenselect scratched unlike Lovefilm.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Andy from Leeds, April 25, 2005

Overall, they offer the best selection of DVDs but the thing that I didn't like was the priority selection. Rather than simply numbering what DVD's you want to see first, you have to select how quick you want them. If, for example, you have 5 DVD's in your priority list, you could receive any of those 5 rather than the one you want.

In fairness, you will only select the DVD's you want to watch, but it would be SO much better if you could just simply number them in the order you want.

I also, for the first DVD I received, got the second disc of a film, which only had extras on. It wasn't until the next day that I received the film itself - not the best first impression...

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Pete from Leics, April 13, 2005

Rarely getting top picks, slow compared to Blockbuster.  Been with them since Oct-ish.  Service seems to be getting worse as time goes by, i.e. discs I didn't order, slower turnaround, etc.  Don't like the priority system as much as Blockbuster.  I think its time to cancel and another company out...

Design: 4, Value: 3, Service: 2

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Simon from Twickenham, March 30, 2005

Their turnaround time decreases once the trial ends but the site is superb. It's because the site was better that I changed from amazon.co.uk. For the amount of rentals I have per month it equates to around £1.50 per DVD!

Am going to try a few others on their free trials and I will settle on the one I prefer...(Screenselect so far!)

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Terry from Ipswich, March 7, 2005

After getting increasingly annoyed with Blockbuster, I tried these guys out based on your review, and I have to say they're really good. The site is so much better designed and I was actually getting my top picks regularly.

I'm still going to give a few more companies a whirl to take advantage of the free trials, but will probably come back to Screenselect. I highly reccommend it.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Marty from London, March 5, 2005

A very good company indeed, but their service did drop off a bit when they merged with VideoIsland. Still worthy of a try.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Return to Screenselect Review Page
 
Add Your Comments on Screenselect DVD Rental

 

Comments closed as Screenselect DVD Rental has gone out of business.

Online DVD rental prices and terms change frequently; check the company website for the latest.

UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com is not responsible for any losses resulting from the information provided (see Disclaimer). If you do spot a discrepancy, please email us and we'll update the site.

UK Games Rental Guide

UK Diet Review

UK Internet Dating Guide

UK eReader Guide

UK eReader Guide

UK Games Rental Guide

UK Diet Review

UK Internet Dating Guide

UK Games Rental Guide

 
HomeRental BasicsVideo Games RentalNews/LinksWhat's NewSite MapContact/Link to Us
 

The views and opinions expressed on the site are our own, and we have not been given free subscriptions, products, or other compensation to publish them. Some of the reviewed companies offer affiliate commissions, but these do not influence our reviews or rankings, which we keep open and unbiased. Our recommendations are made on the merits of a product or service, as we review based on our experience, education, and background. At our discretion we may accept third-party advertising, but this does not constitute our endorsement.

Copyright 2005-2017© UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com. All Rights Reserved