UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com
 
Lovefilm Ratings:
   
  Value Value Rating
  Design Design Rating
  Service Service Rating
     
 

Lovefilm DVD Rental

 

.Lovefilm is the largest and one of the best UK rental sites, with an unparalleled selection and excellent site features

Visit Lovefilm DVD Rental Site


2008 Customer Comments for Lovefilm DVD Rental

Martin from Huddersfield, January 11, 2009

i have been with lovefilm for 2 years now but not any more iam moving to blockbuster, the reason why iam leaving is because i put my films on high that i want to see and the ones i am not in a rush for on low for the past few months they have been sending me the ones on low, when there are films that i have been waiting to see for ages so be warned

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Anna, December 20, 2008

We moved to Love Film from Amazon and were disappointed with tbe the resulting drop in service. Dispatch has generally been slower. Recently we added a series to our our rental list for the first time and they sent us the second disc before the first. LoveFilm assured us they would send us the first disc immediately but after 2 weeks they still had not dispatched it. This was after upgading to a supposedly better monthly package. Incredibly poor customer service and lack of communication despite sending numerous emails. We have now left LoveFilm and plan to move to Blockbuster. Whilst LoveFilm undoubtedly has a vast selection of dvds I think their popularity has led them to compromise their customer service.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Russ from Peterborough, November 22, 2008

We were moved from Amazon to LoveFilm, and were disappointed with the downturn in service as a result. The only way you can prioritise is high, medium, and low - you cannot specify the order you want to see things in. On the plus side, there was a good selection of titles available, and they were generally delivered promptly. But we miss the reliability and features of Amazon.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Matt, October 30, 2008

Another ex-Amazon customer. I much prefered the Amazon system as it was more logical. It took a couple of months to sort out how to play Lovefilm. I now have five lists (unlimited 3 at a time) and move the options around, keeping a few in red, a selection in amber and the rest green. I usually get the red discs within a couple of weeks and only top up when empty. I have had to contact Lovefilm a couple of times and they have been helpfull.

That said, I would go back to Amazon like a shot.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Lu from Bristol, October 20, 2008

Like other Amazon account holders, I have been hugely disappointed with Lovefilm services. For instance, in almost a year with them, I have only once got a DVD that was listed as high on my priority list. I have complained several times, but the truth is users have no control whatsover as to what movie they will receive next.

In an attempt to gain some control I have created a 2nd list (a nice feature they have) with no discs allocated to them and only kept 4 on my main one - the one where the discs would be allocated from. Even so, I STILL have not received the movies on the top of my priority.

They also change the postage methods for some services. For example, I have downgraded my plan to a pay-as-you-go one and suddenly my discs started being dispatched on 2nd class post. Having read the T&C's there wasn't any warning about doubling the turn around in them.

Basically if you are not after obscure titles and will mainly rent well heard of titles, go to another provider that treat their custumers right.

Oh I miss Amazon........

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Alex from Swindon, October 13, 2008

Its overall a good service. My only real problems are the turnarounds for new releases which i supose is to be expected with any of theese rental sites. However over all games going back and forth from you to them time is good generally takes about 1-3 days both ways. Its good value for money. customer service is ok. i had a complaint and they copy pasted me a message however i got onto them and they rectified the problem with a proper response and a freebie. But what do you expect from a service with thousands of customers. I would say in my oppinion i have saved alot of money in buying games.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Mark from Hampshire, October 12, 2008

Since my account was transferred from Amazon I have been very disappointed with the quality of the discs - I have returned 3 out of the last six with faults. My DVD player eventually manages to get past them with my help but the interruption and missing minutes from the films drives me nuts. Worse they only offer the same film again. Come on Love Film, stop using your customers to do the quality checks on your discs.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Kashif, October 8, 2008

I started lovefilm about 2-3 months ago as I was planning to join Amazon but someone told me that Amazon is switching all their customers to lovefilm. Initially it was very good, they were dispatching next dvd on the same day they were receiving from me. But in third month, now they have started dispatching film after 1-2 days of receiving returned disk.

I contacted them about this difference in service in earlier months and now but they didnot turned up with reasonable answer.

So, I am planning to switch to blockbuster already a lot of people has switched from lovefilm to blockbuster and found it very good in dispatch time and collection.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jane from Kent, October 4, 2008

Another ex Amazon customer who doesn't find LoveFilm such a good service in many respects. I preferred organising my choices in order and according to my interests at the time, rather than in blocs according to how much I want to see a film. The time to acknowledge receipt of returned DVD and to send out new ones is slower than Amazon. I also preferred knowing what was awaiting dispatch rather than just having an indication that SOMETHING was awaiting dispatch. I hope LoveFilm will incorporate some of the old Amazon's practices.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Roo from Redruth, October 3, 2008

I totally agree with Sam from St Albans. I too used to be with Amazon and never had any trouble whatsoever, then they sold out to Lovefilm and I have had nothing but trouble and hassle with them. They say their turnaround is quick, it is not, you can send a film back, 1st class, and you may not get your next one for over a week!! I am going to cancel my subscription right now with Lovefilm and go elsewhere - the customer service is non-existent!! I would give no stars for customer service but this site doesn' allow it!!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

James, October 1, 2008

I pay 7.99 for 4 discs a month with Lovefilm, which is just about right. I used them before a few years ago and I've no complaints apart from the odd scratched disc.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Sam from St Albans, September 29, 2008

I've just decided to cancel my subscription. I am an ex- Amazon member and found their service relatively fault free. My first go with Lovefilm was a disaster - I sent back two films in one envelope, as they request that you do, and then they claimed they had received one and not the other. Amazon would immediately send out the next on the list, but Lovefilm prefer to treat you as a criminal! It was only after a lot of (eventual!) contact with customer services that they sent out another film. I also find their preferential listing system very poor - you can wait weeks for a film you have at the top of your list. Anyway, have had enough and am going to give Cinema Paradiso a go - as one of the previous reviewers stated, Lovefilm have pretty much cornered the market.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

ZedsDead, September 25, 2008

AMAZON you betrayed me. You sold me out to a bunch of MUPPETS who NEVER answer a customer query without making it the CUSTOMERS FAULT. LOVEFILM is UTTER RUBBISH. There has been a huge decline in my enjoyment of films - so I am going to OUTNOW instead. It's 10-days since my subscription kicked in for this month, so I sent LOVEFILM an email asking where my DVDs were and they said they were not LATE (auto-response - death by bldy process) - NEVER had all this to put up with with AMAZON and am now ANGRY with BOTH.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Campbell from Brighton, September 22, 2008

A lot of hassle from this bunch of shysters. Like many here I had an Amazon account which ran like clockwork, absolutely no problems at all. Cue the Lovefilm takeover. Since then I've had the same hassle as many others - getting discs in the wrong order, then being blamed for that myself!? Quite how they work that out I don't know....

Also the same problems with scratched, dirty and otherwise damaged discs.

Finally having had enough I decided to cancel. Seemed to go fairly smoothly - I sent off all 3 discs I had. 2 weeks later I get an e-mail saying they still haven't received one disc from me - bear in mind this is not a single movie - it's a TV series disc - Criminal Minds series 1 disc 5. Hardly something I'd want to keep for myself. Yet, they tell me that I have to fill in some form so they can claim back costs from the Post Office... fair enough, but if I don't send the form back within 10 days they will 'fine' me 10 from my account! Absolutely livid now, as that seems to suggest I'm some sort of crook... Anyone else had this 'experience' from them? Me, I'm writing to their head office and also to Watchdog as I think this is a disgusting way to treat people - threats are not welcome!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Lahlan from Hamilton, September 16, 2008

hi
I agree with the last reviewer.Its been horrendous for me as I rarely if ever get the dvds on my list and to top it the customer service just cannot sort out your problems even for weeks!
Its just not worth the trouble but lovefilm have cornered the market and if you opt out your other options are limited to blockbuster and cinemaparadiso because Lovefilm owns almost all the others from amazon,tesco,easycinema,odeaon,sofacinema,screenselect,whsmith,etc!!
I guess the only option is to write to OFCOM about monopoly and unfair tactics by lovefilm so that we a tleast get hold of Netflix and others to give us better service at really cheaper rates!I have dropped a letter already,my mates have done so and I invite others to do the same!
let the customer have options and fair ones at that!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Sue, September 15, 2008

I have mixed reviews of lovefilm.At times their service is good but as usual the problem is in getting hold of priority titles which take forever to arrive( you might get it earlier on SKY!).However the most frustrating aspect is their customer service which cannot answer anything specific other than the standard we are looking into it replies.It is bit like listening to the music when you ring up company and you hear the abysmal'we know your call is important please wait....'!!!!!
I think they have taken on too many companies and are too big to give a good service to all customers.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Lee from Lincs, September 5, 2008

I agree with some of the comments above, particularly about sending your last top-up selection. I'm still waiting for titles placed on list months ago. Having said that, their service is normally by return of post. A query on lost DVD they say may cost me money if it doesn't show up. If I'm charged I'll threaten to cancel to test their CRM (customer relationship management) policy. One of the best films seen to date: Fanny & Alexander (2 discs, counted as one...5.25 hours long!) Ingmar Bergman.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from Dudley, September 4, 2008

My main gripe with these people is that the priority settings on DVDs you select seems to count for nothing. I add new films and they just arrange them in alphabetical order and send what they want. May look to change soon.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Brett from Northants , August 26, 2008

I've also found Lovefilm an excellent value most of the time, when it works, though getting through to customer service is difficult. I've had to call multiple times, though at least then they sorted the disc that went missing in the post and I didn't end up out of pocket. The service itself work well most for time, though the new releases are hard to come by for a few weeks after they come out.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Paul from South Wales, August 25, 2008

Nice company to work with when things are going well, dreadful when things are going wrong. Never send an email and expect anything other than a pre-prepared answer, always ring the 0844 number and even then it's pot luck that they will solve your problem out within a week.

After a few months, and once many of your original selections have been seen and returned, you will eventually get availability problems with new and old titles alike. Eventually it just isn't worth 12.99 or whatever your package may be, because after 8 months I still haven't had some of my original choice dvd's - you add new ones to keep up a decent number on the list and they send you the ones you have just added, regardless of which priority level you set them at.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from Suffolk, August 24, 2008

We were Tesco customers until Lovefilm took over and our first choice films stopped arriving. We then joined Amazon and were wary when they announced Lovefilm were taking over, but decided to give it a try. But we had more problems in the first two months than in 18 months with Amazon. They even managed to send one DVD we'd returned straight back to us and sent us disc two of a two disc set first, then said it was my fault because I hadn't ticked the right box. True, you have to do that with Lovefilm, but I'd ordered it when it was still Amazon who sent discs out in order unless you asked them to do otherwise. When I cancelled the contract they also failed to point out that, unlike the three other DVD rental firms we've used, including Amazon, they cancel immediately rather than at the end of the period you've paid for. So we'd paid for a month and had only one DVD. It was only when I informed the credit card company and Trading Standards that they agreed to refund us.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John, August 12, 2008

I joined and took advantage of 30days free trial and a free Spideman 3 HD DVD, and that's where I went wrong!After two months I cancelled my subscription as I was only sent 1 of my high priority discs and I was never sent my free copy of the promised DVD.

I was sent plenty of unpopular films but assoon as you wanted a latest release or anything made within the last 2 years, it was hopeless.

Furthermore after contact customer service re the free disc, I was sent a mail apologising and assuring me that I would be sent the gift with 21 to 28 working days - we are 9+ weeks down the line and still no fre gift!!!

Oh, and what a polarva it is to cancel membership - talk about entrapment. I eventually had to wait until 10pm when the call centres closed and then cancel my account online. You have to cancel by phone during their call centre hours and then they allow self service via the web when they are closed - good tip there peeps!

All the back office admin and call centre operations are based in India too which says it all for service - I always refuse to knowingly do business with companies that I am likely to come in contact with overseas call centres - they are all just useless! Love film was of no exception!

Deplorable pile of tosh!!! Avoid. Go to Blockbusters in person, pay 10 for 3 films for thre nights, all of which will be the latest films and 95% chance you'll get to rent the film you acutally want.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Johnny from Billingham, August 6, 2008

I have been with these guys for about 5 months now and I've had absolutely no problem with them. They have never lost a single game I have sent back to them and they always send me a game back within two days. They have even introduced a new thing now where you can create lists and assign a disc to a list, so for example because I am on a two disc package, I have assigned one disc to a list full of just games so I will always have a game sent out to me. I don't get whatever it is on the top of my high priority, but when do these game rental sites ever do that?

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Doug, August 4, 2008

I've used Lovefilm for a few years now and have never had any trouble at all.You don't always get your first choice prioritised title but if it's a new release that everyone else wants,that is to be expected.

It is certainly better value than high street Blockbuster stores and all the queues and claustrophobia that come with it.

It is definitely worth a free trial if you've never rented online before.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rich from Bangor, July 30, 2008

Having been migrated over from Amazon, problems began almost immediately, a series I was watching was removed from my list as they didn't stock it, Disc 3 and 4 of something was sent before Disc 1 and 2, discs arrive and they are invariably covered in scratches. I've had three duds already and I've only been there a month. But my biggest problem with them is this.

With Amazon, you could see on your list which discs where being rented or whether they were available for dispatch. I could then adjust my list accordingly if for example my top three were being rented. With Lovefilm I can't do this, the priority ranking is useless. You still don't know if your priority title is available or not. This is really frustrating when watching a series, I get one disc from a boxset e.g The Shield Season 1 but then I have no idea when the next disc will be available.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jeff from Cambridge, July 20, 2008

Great selection of films but long waits for major new titles. I was transferred to Lovefilm from Amazon and I have to say the quality of service dropped significantly, so much so that I have now cancelled my subscription. The DVD's arrive in scruffy paper protectors, not the protective cases used by Amazon, and many of the discs are scratched and require cleaning before they will play. Customer service is poor, even cancelling was a chore!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

David from Scotland, July 16, 2008

Now a Lovefilm customer after Amazon was bought over and what a change for the worse!-Website SLOW,Availability of High priority titles POOR,Customer service PATCHY.
I appreciate that as someone has said it is a library but I do not expect to have ten high priority titles bypassed to have medium priority titles sent instead.
This company needs to get its finger out and buy more new releases which will help its struggling customer service bods and upgrade its servers to run at a decent speed.
After reading reviews here and on the Amazon section can't help thinking company has got to big to care or deliver.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Helen, July 8, 2008

Was moved from Amazon to LoveFilm recently, was very disappointed to find out that despite them moving over my rental list correctly, they hadn't ticked the box that ensured series arrive in the correct order. My first dvd from them was disc 3 when I hadn't seen discs 1 and 2.

I complained, they gave me an extra rental for the month to compensate but did not answer my question (would I need to delete and readd all my tv series in the rental list?).

I complained again and received the answer that I would have to delete and readd. The second reply was addressed to someone other than me so obviously I'm not the only one with problems. Why this could not have been handled in the transfer I have no idea, but speaks very poorly for the technical staff.

Also I hate the 'priority' system, just give me what I want in the order I want it. I will give them another month or two, but am looking at free trials elsewhere already.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jeff from Cambridge, July 20, 2008

Great selection of films but long waits for major new titles. I was transferred to Lovefilm from Amazon and I have to say the quality of service dropped significantly, so much so that I have now cancelled my subscription. The DVD's arrive in scruffy paper protectors, not the protective cases used by Amazon, and many of the discs are scratched and require cleaning before they will play. Customer service is poor, even cancelling was a chore!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Nic from Bedford, July 8, 2008

Just rejoined Lovefilm (formerly Screen select, unfortunately not inproved much. The first DVD I opened from them could not even play, it had massive damage to the disc. This damage isn't recent, one can tell by looking at it the damage has been there a while, the person who sent this out must of noticed it. Straight forward incompitance.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Randy, July 5, 2008

All around good service. Not perfect, and don't excpect to get all the frist run films the week they come out. This is a library system folks, a fact which still eludes some of my friends who whine about it. Fact is, I've gotten several hundred quid in great rents for a fraction of the price I'd pay at my local blockbuster or on cable pay per view. I just don't see how you can (legally) beat the service for the price. So to sum up, it's not perfect, but it's great for the price.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul from Wandsworth, July 3, 2008

I very much agree with David. Lots of films, including old ones - good design, but when something goes wrong it shows up the weakness in their customer service training. First off, a machine replies to your complaint (extremely annoying !)but even when a human takes over their obtuse ignoring of the point you are trying to make would put the political class to shame.

On 2 occasions I have been sent the same film on two consecutive despatches; and once had a damaged disc I had returned simply sent back to me as if it was a clean copy.

To be fair, the human does sometimes offer extra days on the membership if you get really cross but it is clear that the way they train those who put the films in the bags is along the lines of : "just shove it in fast and move on , any problems will be dealt with by another dept". Given that their customers are their business, this is extremely short sighted, I would have thought.
I havn't given them the push yet but am quite peeved at the casual way they deal with those who pay their salaries and profits.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John, July 2, 2008

Poor customer service beyond belief, the qworst i have come across around the world!!! Requested envelopes 4wks ago as ones supplied with films were both damaged!! Still no envelopes....was actually told to send them back and pay for the honour of doing so?? Cancelling membership...have been robbed of over 1 months rentals....and they don't care?!@*

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

David, May 15, 2008

I started subscribing to (what was then) Screen Select some years ago. It worked pretty well: I'd say what I wanted, and I'd pretty much get that. I never had any problems with discs, and the only problem was that they couldn't get discs through the post any faster. Screen Select were replaced my Love Film (LOVEFiLM), and then things started to go downhill. First they stopped sending discs in little plastic cases that protected them when they were handled less than gently by the postal service. Then, they stopped sending my the films I most wanted and started sending me my low priority ones. Then, I started to have problems playing their discs. One of their discs even broke a DVD player, and I all got when I complained was their standard response. Stupidly, I continued with their service. However, as of today, I no longer subscribe to Love Film. The penultimate disc I received had a crack that reached halfway across it, and today, instead of getting Yojimbo, I got 300. Having immediately posted it back, I went on their website to report the problem. However, it seemed I couldn't report a wrong disc. After all this, I decided to cancel my subscription. I went to the relevant page, clicked the relevant link, and received instructions to phone a call centre. Not put-off, I phoned. Then, on getting a "We can't take your call" message, I phoned again. And again. Then I got through to someone who took longer to "access my account" and "talk to his manager" than he did talking to me. All I can say is that I'm glad it's was an 0800 number, else I would have been really really peeved by the time I got through. I'm disappointed in Love Film. In the past I've recommended them to several people, and I worry that it makes me look bad. Still, from now on, if people ask me about online dvd rental, I'll tell them to avoid Love Film, and to avoid anyone who might be taken over by love film (like amazon have been).

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Eddie from London, May 11, 2008

I've nothing but excellent service from lovefilm, much cheaper than blockbusters store (though I see blockbuster online is cheaper, what's up with that?). The money I'm saving is pretty impressive, and I'm watching more films than I normally would from the store anyway. Yeah, new releases aren't out so quick, which is slightly annoying, but I can understand iut works like a library, supply and demand and all that. Overall I'd recommend it to a mate.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Tim from Wonderful Wales, May 9, 2008

Lovefilm were excellent when I first joined providing a quick turn round on films usually same day return and I had a lot of my top titles. Now I would look to a different provider. I now find them slow, they only provide a same day turn round about 50% of the time and whenever I contact them you are provided with the same old standard template email apologies. I have also found an incredible amount of films are either extremely dirty or do not play. You make up your mind but I am cancelling my subscription at the end of this month !!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Doug from Lancashire, May 4, 2008

I used Lovefilm and also Tesco and the service was quite dreadful. The turnaround time was slow and I rarely received any discs from the top of my list. My son also used the same services and he received the same treatment. I would strongly recommend that you do not use these providers. I switched to Blockbuster and the service is very good. However, even they rarely provide me with discs from the top of my list but compared to Lovefilm and Tesco they are poles apart.

Value: value rating .Design: design rating .Service: Service rating

 

Paul, April 29, 2008

Since the demise of Amazon and LOVEFiLM's acquisition of Amazon, I have been forced to look elsewhere. By all means give LOVEFiLM a go, but being larger doesn't mean a better, more cost effective service.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Michael from Lancashire, April 28, 2008

Lovefilm has a good selection, also of non-english movies (that, however, often are non-optionally subtitled in english). The quality of the disks is good (at least compared to other leading DVD rental companies) and a seldom damaged dvd is replaced as an additional and separate dispatch (unlike some other companies). The turn-over time for the unlimited 3 disc-at-a-time is _fixed_ to 2 dispatches per week as soon as the trial period expires, and they may wait 24 h before returning new discs. Their price is a bit higher than the other companies but compared to other companies I've tried, they do an effort in providing your 1st priorities. I've been with Lovefilm for almost a year.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Laura from Cheshire, April 26, 2008

Started off great, but once we'd been with them for about a year got really, really bad. Kept losing discs that we'd returned and basically accused us of stealing! Awful and would never recommend to anyone. Stay away!!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Steve, March 18, 2008

I used to be a big fan of lovefilm, until they kept losing the discs I retd. They have also begun to take an age to send discs, so after 2 and a half years I've left them. Shame...

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Steve, March 18, 2008

I used to be a big fan of lovefilm, until they kept losing the discs I retd. They have also begun to take an age to send discs, so after 2 and a half years I've left them. Shame...

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Mike from Durham, March 7, 2008

exellent rental service ,if you are renting both games and dvds you need to create a separate list for each you can then allocate priority on what you want delivering otherwise Lovefilm will always send dvds first

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Alex, March 5, 2008

screenselect was better and cheaper, they should not have joined lovefilm im giving them a 1 star value because the prices have gone up and plus you now dont get the free game rentals incl (have to pay about anouther 2) good design and layout and a good number of titles service was good but when they raised prices and failed to tell me this i was not impressed overall, if you want just dvds use blockbusters, but if you want dvds and game rentals use tesco overall im very disappointed with lovefilm because of their price raising even though they have got alot of competition

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Michael from NW England, February 29, 2008

During the promotion period, Lovefilm would return a new movie the same day they received an old. Afterwards, they consistently "register the received movie" and wait one business day before selecting and sending a new one from your list claiming this is within their guarantied performance (not strictly true as their regulations state "will normally send out your next disc on the same day we receive the previous one,,,"). The 1-day "delay" is nevertheless the rule for 98% of your rentals, no matter the size of your wish list for new movies. It is however strictly kept and never exceeded. Opposed to several other DVD rental companies, you do get the latest movie releases relatively fast, even as a high-volume renter, and their selection is comprehensive.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jonathan from London, February 28, 2008

I could best describe Lovefilm as great on catalogue or older titles, but useless for new releases. I have had to wait over a month for a new release on high priority, while getting random low priority discs while waiting. Customer service was quite efficient, but would not admit that waiting a month for a rental could be constituted as even a 'short wait', something I feel is a reasonable statement to make.
I have just gone over to Blockbusters with my custom and hoping for new releases within a month of asking for them!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Peter from Bolton, February 24, 2008

Absolutley horrendous, I escaped these morons and have been at Amazon since Aug 05 where service has been excellent. Imagine how annoyed I am at Lovefilm trying to buy out the rental service. I will be going elsewhere if they succeed- possibly blockbuster?

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

David from Manchester, February 17, 2008

Whatever you do, avoid Lovefilm at all costs. Yes they have the largest selection and, yes, you get a pretty good turnover rate. However, when something goes wrong - the wrong disc is sent, or worse when one is lost in the post - you might as well bang your head against the wall as try to get any help from Customer Services. Let me describe the problem:

Firstly, most of the people who work in this department don't seem to understand written English very well. So it's very likely that your problem will be misinterpreted and hence ignored.

Secondly, there's no other way to contact them other than by E-mail (or you could try sending them a letter. Good luck!).

Thirdly, Lovefilm do operate a fine system. For example, when one of the discs is lost on the way back to them you must fill in a form stating when and where the item was posted. Now, if they lose this form, as they did with me, they charge you 10. (Customer services refused to refund this money despite admitting that they were in the wrong and ignored any further enquiries.)

Fourthly, if you cancel your account part-way through the month you don't get a part refund. This is actually true for many of these services. However, with Lovefilm you don't get a refund, or indeed any form of compensation, when, for example, they shut the Website down for two weeks, don't send any discs and ignore all enquiries.

Fifthly, and in the same vein, if you do have a problem Lovefilm would prefer that you refer to their online help. When you register a problem, their site is programmed to try to answer it by presenting you with the answer from what appears to be frequently asked questions. If that doesn't answer your problem and you can't find a path which kind of relates to the problem, then you have to either choose one that does (report the disc missing) or hunt around for their E-mail address, which is not published on the Webiste.

All in all, you will get an apparently decent service until something goes wrong. When that happens (notice I didn't use IF) go somewhere else.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Ray from Norfolk, February 12, 2008

I have been with Lovefilm twice. The first time I left because of their unhelpful, even arrogant, customer service. I rejoined on a free trial a couple of years later but left half-way through when I found their service had actually got worse. Im with Amazon now but I will get out before Lovefilm takes over later this year. Avoid at all costs.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Jay from Bristol, January 20, 2008

I had a 3 month free trial with Lovefilm but cancelled after only two months after I was sent a 4th damaged movie. I found it very annoying getting into a movie and not being able to see the end.
Also they started off very well sending out my next disc by return but then there began to be 3/4 day delays.

I liked the design of their website & the trailers.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

See 2007 Lovefilm Reviews

 

Return to Lovefilm Review Page

Visit Lovefilm DVD Rental Site

 
Add Your Comments on Lovefilm DVD Rental

You: (ie, John from Essex)
Email address: (won't be kept, but required to deter spammers)

Please rate Lovefilm on the following criteria:

Value? . Design? . Customer Service?

Your Review:

By submitting you agree to our Policies on visitor comments

Online DVD rental prices and terms change frequently; check the company website for the latest.

UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com is not responsible for any losses resulting from the information provided (see Disclaimer). If you do spot a discrepancy, please email us and we'll update the site.

UK Internet Dating Guide

Hotel Chocolat - Luxury delivered chocolate gifts

UK Games Rental Guide

Flat Telly

Flat Telly

UK Diet Review

Flat Telly

UK eReader Guide

Flat Telly

Hotel Chocolat - Luxury delivered chocolate gifts

UK eReader Guide

Hotel Chocolat - Luxury delivered chocolate gifts

 
HomeRental BasicsVideo Games RentalNews/LinksWhat's NewSite MapContact/Link to Us
 

The views and opinions expressed on the site are our own, and we have not been given free subscriptions, products, or other compensation to publish them. Some of the reviewed companies offer affiliate commissions, but these do not influence our reviews or rankings, which we keep open and unbiased. Our recommendations are made on the merits of a product or service, as we review based on our experience, education, and background. At our discretion we may accept third-party advertising, but this does not constitute our endorsement.

Copyright 2005-2017© UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com. All Rights Reserved