UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com
 
easyCinema Ratings:
   
  Value Value Rating
  Design Design Rating
  Service Service Rating
     
 

easyCinema DVD Rental Service

 

.The only Lovefilm"powered by" site where you buy multi-month pay-per-disc credits; good for very low-volume renters, but we're concerned they might not be around for long.

Visit easycinema DVD Rental Site


Customer Comments for easyCinema DVD Rental

Paul from Dukinfield, May 3, 2008

If you only watch about 1-4 DVDs per month, then easycinema is good value. No need to comit to direct debit, pay for batches of 4 DVDs at a time which will last for 90 days. They use 2nd class postage which means 1-3 days in postage, it takes about 5 days to send back and receive a new one. However you get more of top DVD choices than other companies, and if you keep your list short even better.

Value: value rating .Design: Design rating .Service: Service rating

 

Jon from Milton Keynes, May 2, 2008

The worst company I have ever used for any service. Almost half of the DVDs didn't work properly. Tested on several machines, it took quite some effort to convince them that this was unacceptable. Refunded credits expire at the same time as credits you bought, often leaving very little time to use them. Don't be fooled by the cheap prices, this lot are an absolute joke. I will not be using any LoveFilm powered companies cos I suspect the DVDs are all from the same warehouse. Will be trying Blockbuster despite the price because I've never had any problems renting from their stores.

Value: value rating .Design: Design rating .Service: Service rating

 

AlanD, March 1, 2008

The service that I have received from easycinema has been terrible. The first of 2 of 3 DVDs that I received did not work properly. Customer services suggested that I run a cleaning disk on my machine, regardless of the fact they did not work on 3 different devices. I asked for my money back but was told this was not possible. Stupidly, but without any other choice, I accepted two free credits. Unfortunatley, two weeks later I was informed that I had no credits on my account, twice daily, even though I had DVDs selected for delivery. I complained again and was told that my credits would be reinstatted, which they were. Then with DVDs still outstanding for delivery, I was again informed that I had no credits on my account.

Personally I would steer as far clear from easycinema as you can. I do not usually post to forums but the service I have received forces me to do so. The money is not important but I feel you should get what you pay for in this world

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Rob from Worcester, February 25, 2008

Keep a dvd one day too long and it can cost you another batch, ridiculous service. when i complained they did nothing. Definitely going elsewhere!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Andrew from Newark, 9 February, 2008

If you continue to hold any DVDs when all your credits have expired (90 days from purchase) you will be charged for a new batch of credits. Even if you have auto top up disabled on your account!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mikey from Suffolk, 15 December, 2007

We've been with Easycinema for well over a year, with no major problems at all. Good value, especially if you only want to rent 3 or 4 titles per month. However, the return address recently changed from a Peterborough address to a London one, and the time it takes to get the next DVD is becoming unacceptable. What was previously 3 days has become up to a week, and in fact the last disc I sent back a week ago has allegedly not arrived at that end. Seriously thinking of switching now.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Steve from Kent, 14 December, 2007

Have been a member for 2 months now. Recently started taking longer (about 1 week) from returning 1 dvd to receiving the next. This is because everything is 2nd class now (out and return). Also not received any new releases in my high priority section yet (I guess this is down to me wanting kids Xmas films which everybody wants around this time of year). All in all not too bad as I am only low rental user and don't mind waiting a bit.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Dave from Essex, September 23, 2007

I love the idea of Easycinema's service and it works perfectly, right up to the point where you sit down to watch the film that you've been looking for and then it freezes after about 30 minutes. I have been using this service for some months and about 1 in 3 DVDs have faults, varying from the minor to the unwatchable. This severely reduces the value of the service and can spoil an evening - Easycinema simply apologise and then replace if required but this is not the point; its a spoilt evening when you sit down to watch it and after 45 minutes you have to give up; too late to watch something else and cheesed off by the failure. I am going to look around for a more reliable service.

I marked the value down because of this - otherwise I think it would rate 4 or 5 stars.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Gavin from London, 21 July , 2006

I pay 1.99 per DVD I watch and don't have to pay any monthly fees whatsoever - so when on holiday etc I do not get charged. I nearly always get my first choice movie. A great service.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John, July 20, 2007

I have received numerous damaged DVDs. EasyDVD are always quick to refund but despite my complaints they just send out another clearly damaged DVD. I have never known a company to fail to deliver so consistently. The service is actually run by lovefilm so the same criticisms could apply to them.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul, December 2, 2006

Easycinema has the WORST customer service of any company I have ever dealt with. I set up an account in January. I borrowed a few films which I sent back. My last rental was on the 7 of February 2006 which I sent back a few days later. I cancelled my account in the middle of November. I suddenely see 18 pound coming out of my bank saying I had not returned the last film I borrowed. The company took the money without warning and without my authorisation. They have blamed me saying that I did not return the disc or report it as lost. I told them I couldn't because I didn't know it was lost. Their customer service (directed to India) is beyond useless. They have no UK contact and all the emails I send never get a personal reply. I will be getting my 18 pound back. My bank are going to reverse the transaction. I have sent possibly 8 emails with no reasonable response other than I should have got proof of purchase. It has took them 9 months to realise t his. The onus is on the company as far as I am aware to make sure the services they use are secure but they will not respond to me. When I did use them in January I never got a single one of my top 3 choices of CD with no explanation.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ken from Bristol, November 20, 2006

Easycinema's is a good choice for people like me who don't have time to get through dozens of DVDs, but want to watch something at the weekend. Plus I like the credit system, means you don't feel like you're on the clock or something, like I did with Screenselect, cause your credits roll over into the next month if you don't use them. Hats off to Stelios again on this one.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Rob from Aberdeen, October 12, 2006

This is the only service for low volume rental. It's perfect for me and I've found easycinema excellent. I always get my first choice dvd.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Evandro from Kennington, September 12, 2006

Easycinema is perfect for those of us who want a low volume of DVDs and also to keep each one for longer than a week. Under those circumstances I think it is the best value around. And despite what it says on this site and in the comments, it is not a "per month" service. You can, for instance, buy £8 worth of credits, which will deliver you 4 DVDs and you have three (3) months in which to view and return them all.

So the question of whether it represents good value depends on your anticipated usage. For me it is the best deal around but should I decide to increase my rental frequency significantly then I would of course consider another provider.

If you're not sure what your turnover will be, start with Easycinema and review your usage patterns after a month or two. While there is an autotop function if you want it, you can just pay your £8 without further obligation and if you decide to discontinue you don't have to do anything.

As for customer service, I have to admit I haven't had to contact them regarding any problems so I can't comment on their responsiveness.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Emily from Bristol, June 28, 2006

Easycinema's service is extremely bad. I'm sure their service is the worst I've ever encountered. They charge you money immediately and will reply your email in AGES!!! You'll regret if you sign up.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Joseph from London, July 13, 2006

Pretty good deliveries, but now that I've comapred with other companies, they're too expensive and I want to watch more movies. I like easy companies in general, but this one isn't as good value for money.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from London , July 9, 2006

Easycinema doesn't have a bad system, but it's simply too expensive compared to other unlimited services. You shouldn't need to pay essentially 2 quid per disc, which is not too far off the high street, when you can get maybe half that on an unlimited tariff (if you do the maths). OK if you watch a couple films I guess, but then I'd go with Amazon which at least offer less than 2 quid per disc.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Karen from Cornwall, February 22, 2006

If you want a 'fixed price per DVD rental', then this is the only place to rent from. you can take as long, or be as quick as you like. credits last ninety days,so if you havn't much time sometimes, no worry, but if you watch the films quickly you can just buy more credits. the other fixed price sites dont give you this flexibility. Personally I prefer not to have the pressure of 'ive got to watch as many as i can to get my moneys worth'. Also if you dont want to spend much on DVD rental you can make them last the ninety days, and it works out really cheap per month.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Thomas from Rippon, February 13, 2006

Sorry but customer service should be Zeor Stars Just can not contact them at all. Have been trying for WEEKS.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Robin from Cardiff, December 18, 2005

Cool site, yes it's not as complicated as Screenselect with all the film festival links and all, but I don't need those anyway, prefer it the way it is. Agreed you could get better value with some of the unlimited companies DVD rental, but unlike most limited sites, Easy let you buy credits that carry from month to month, so you know exactly what you're paying for. I don't watch too many films anyway, so this defined benefit plan suits me better than the more expensive unlimited ones anyway.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jim from Brighton , November 12, 2005

Too expensive for my taste, the credit system is good in theory, but why pay 14 quid for 7 rentals when for 15 quid you can go with Screenselect/Lovefilm/Blockbuster and get 12 minumum, up to 20+ discs. Just doesn't add up for me.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Colin from Portsmouth, July 27, 2005

Ordered the 1 disc delivery ; but had to purchase 4 'credits' at £7.97 very good value. Delivery very good , only disappointment was did not get sent my priority request in the first 4 DVD's.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Return to easyCinema Review Page

 

Visit easycinema DVD Rental Site

 
Add Your Comments on easyCinema DVD Rental
You: (ie, John from Essex)
Email address: (won't be kept, but required to deter spammers)

Please rate easyCinema on the following criteria:

Value? . Design? . Customer Service?

Your Review:

By submitting you agree to our Policies on visitor comments

 

Online DVD rental prices and terms change frequently; check the company website for the latest.

UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com is not responsible for any losses resulting from the information provided (see Disclaimer). If you do spot a discrepancy, please email us and we'll update the site.

UK Games Rental Guide

UK Games Rental Guide

UK Diet Review

Flat Telly

UK eReader Guide

UK eReader Guide

 
HomeRental BasicsVideo Games RentalNews/LinksWhat's NewSite MapContact/Link to Us
 

The views and opinions expressed on the site are our own, and we have not been given free subscriptions, products, or other compensation to publish them. Some of the reviewed companies offer affiliate commissions, but these do not influence our reviews or rankings, which we keep open and unbiased. Our recommendations are made on the merits of a product or service, as we review based on our experience, education, and background. At our discretion we may accept third-party advertising, but this does not constitute our endorsement.

Copyright 2005-2017© UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com. All Rights Reserved