UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com
 
Amazon.co.uk Ratings:
   
  Value Value Rating
  Design Design Rating
  Service Service Rating
     
 

Amazon DVD Rental Service

 

.Used to be one of the top services, but complaints skyrocketed since takeover by Lovefilm

 


Customer Comments for ??? DVD Rental

Lindsey from Newcastle, August 31, 2008

Am amazed that Amazon isn't horrified by these comments. We are also really fed up with the frankly rubbish service from LoveFilm.

Funnily enough too after posting a status on Facebook moaning about how cr*p they were all my friends started messaging saying how much they hated LoveFilm too! Amazon would have been better off just to stop the service if it was that much trouble because all this bad feeling must be worse.

Having looked at the reviews I think we'll be off to Blockbuster and would be interested to see where everyone else ends up and what they think.

And Amazon and LoveFilm you should be proud of your achievement. You have to be quite spectacularly incompetent to stuff up something that well!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Kas from London, August 29, 2008

I was an amazon customer where the DVD turnaround was approximately 2 days. At Lovefilm it is more like 4 days. Hence this means that every pound spent at Amazon went twice as far as it does now with my lovefilm account. So a 50% decrease in value as a result.

Previously an order of preference 1 to 10. Now a choice of High, Medium, Low, hence 1 to 3. So a 66% decrease in Design.

My migrated amazon account with lovefilm did not even recognise my username for the first two weeks of attempting to log in. And periodically forgets my password and then claims that I am not a user when attempting to retreive my supposedly lost password.

Looks like Blockbuster are next in line for my money. Overall a total deterioration in service from Lovefilm once they took over from Amazon.

Customer Service - 80% drop in service overall at one star.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul from Cheshire, August 27, 2008

After going from Amazon to Love Film because of the switchover i've been really disappointed with their service. Recently, I have been selected dvds from the bottom of my pile when there were over 30 titles of more priority to choose from. I contacted customers services and got a very polite "this is the way it is". I am now looking for another service as good as Amazon once was.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from Suffolk, August 24, 2008

Absolutely brilliant rental service until Lovefilm took them over and screwed it up. They even managed to send one DVD we'd returned straight back to us and sent us disc two of a two disc set first, then said it was my fault because I hadn't ticked the right box. True, you have to do that with Lovefilm, but I'd ordered it when it was still Amazon who sent discs out in order unless you asked them to do otherwise.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Matthew, August 23, 2008

We loved Amazon - love film is awful - we only get the disks from the low priority part of our list. Its clear they don't want to Amazon customers on the cheaper tariffs that they have inherited. So we are off to find a new company.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Joanna from Warwickshire, August 17, 2008

I abandoned Tesco DVD rental when Lovefilm took over, moving to Amazon. I have now just cancelled my membership with them following Lovefilm's takeover. Lovefilm have a highly non transparent pricing and delivery policy, ie with Amazon (pre Lovefilm) you knew exactly how many dvd's you had to watch by a certain date and when the next payment was due. This absence of clarity became particularly obvious with Lovefilm when I attempted to change the package. I seemed to be charged the maximum amount for the minimum rentals. The turnaround time is very slow. The priority system seems pointless - you get whatever dvd they have available not the dvd you want. However my biggest gripe is their non existent customer service. They froze my account saying there was a problem with my credit card when in fact the problem was theirs. They would not communicate to solve the problem - just kept sending me a standard e-mailed warning every day. Now dumped. Looking for a good, non Lo vefilm controlled, dvd rental provider. PS Only gave them one star for each category as I was unable to give them lower!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Tammy from Surrey, August 16, 2008

I dumped this company before heading over to the excellent Amazon only to be gutted to find out that Amazon were being taken over by LoveFilm. Customer service same as before, rubbish, design, rubbish, priority list is a joke. Boxset discs delivered out of order ,hmmm, the list goes on. Can I give any less than one star for everything? It's just a shame LoveFilm obviously aren't reading this review site! Let me know if a company sets up to rival the Amazon service, that was fabulous.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul from Milton Keynes, August 15, 2008

Was also were moved from Amazon and we are leaving this month.

LoveFilms are awful, the quality of there DVD is sub standard most films have had to go back due to poor quality. LoveFilms has made watching a DVD more like russian roulette, you never know if you'll get to see the whole film and 9 times out of ten you won't.

Also there 'priority' system is terrible most films sent have been from the bottom end of our list.

Finally 'customer service'is very much a like it or lump it approach.

Stay well clear.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Colin from Kent, August 15, 2008

I have 15 dvd/blu-rays in my high priority list, yet the last three films from my list have not included the high priority list. When I complained they answered with the usual... we do our best to send from the high blah blah. I am getting disappointed with the service.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jane, August 15, 2008

I am yet another former Amazon customer who has been unimpressed with the move to LoveFilm. Totally agree that the rental list system sucks. I was happy having my list of films in order of preference and always seemed to get one of the top two from Amazon - now seems pot luck! I've also suffered from scratched discs - am on this site as I am looking for a new supplier - say no more!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Toby from London, August 12, 2008

I was a big fan of the Amazon service and have (had) been a customer for several years. The customer service was excellent and the best feature of the service was the ability to see which dvd was available and ready for dispatch, thus enabling me to cherry pick what I wanted to watch.

Sadly, this feature is not available on Lovefilm, rather you can only nominate some as high priority, so you don't actually know what you will get until it is dispatched. I find this quite pointless because, the value of these services is as a cheaper and more flexible alternative to dvd rental shops - but if you don't get the particular film you want to watch, you may as well go to your local rental store.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Toby from London, July 29, 2008

The question that I ask myself, having like all the others been traumatised by changing from Amazon DVD rental to Lovefilm, is if Lovefilm wanted to get rid of all those customers on that measly low tariff that Amazon used to charge, how would their service be any worse than it is now?

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jeff from Cambridge, July 20, 2008

Like the majority of others here I loved Amazon, you new exactly what you were getting, films arrived promptly and in good condition, and if things did go wrong customer service was first class. Since the transfer to Lovefilm however things couldn't be more different. Films arrive in scruffy paper 'protectors' and are invariably scratched and require cleaning before they will play. Customer service are obtuse to the point of rudeness, and I've cancelled my account!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

David from Scotland, July 16, 2008

Now a Lovefilm customer after Amazon was bought over and what a change for the worse!-Website SLOW,Availability of High priority titles POOR,Customer service PATCHY.
I appreciate that as someone has said it is a library but I do not expect to have ten high priority titles bypassed to have medium priority titles sent instead.
This company needs to get its finger out and buy more new releases which will help its struggling customer service bods and upgrade its servers to run at a decent speed.
I can't help thinking company has got to big to care or deliver.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Alex from Cheltenham, July 11, 2008

I had been a happy customer with Amazon since 2006, on the fixed rentals plan (started at 6 per month, reduced to 4 per month).
Unfortunately since moving to Lovefilm I'm disappointed to have lost the best feature (in my opinion) of the Amazon site, which was control over DVD priority. Basically you could choose which DVD you were going to get next - in two years I think only once I wasn't sent the first choice DVD from my list, and that was after the Lovefilm takeover.
I have put priorities on my new Lovefilm list, but it still chose the first alphabetical DVD from the low priority list - which is a big step backwards for me. It would be better if I could select the order of dispatch, even if I can't see the availability.
I'm going to give it a couple of months but to be honest I'm likely to cancel the subscription soon and rely on my digital PVR to record movies from the TV - at least I can choose which film I watch

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Helen, July 8, 2008

Was moved from Amazon to LoveFilm recently, was very disappointed to find out that despite them moving over my rental list correctly, they hadn't ticked the box that ensured series arrive in the correct order. My first dvd from them was disc 3 when I hadn't seen discs 1 and 2.

I complained, they gave me an extra rental for the month to compensate but did not answer my question (would I need to delete and readd all my tv series in the rental list?).

I complained again and received the answer that I would have to delete and readd. The second reply was addressed to someone other than me so obviously I'm not the only one with problems. Why this could not have been handled in the transfer I have no idea, but speaks very poorly for the technical staff.

Also I hate the 'priority' system, just give me what I want in the order I want it. I will give them another month or two, but am looking at free trials elsewhere already.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Liz, July 2, 2008

I agree with David. I subscribed through Amazon, who were brilliant, always sending me what I asked for,or at worst, the second film on my list. There was information on their website about which films were currently available and the ones that had a waiting list. Lovefilms made it difficult for me to log on in the first place, then the first two DVDs that they have sent me were WAY down my priority list with no explanation as to why I didn't get my first choice. When I queried it with customer services, I didn't get helpful answers and I am swiftly coming to the conclusion that I will be ending my subscription. Very disappointing considering how satisfied I was with Amazon....

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Paul from Morcambe, June 29, 2008

The interface these people use does not easily allow you to choose the order you wish to receive your films in. Its only been 3 weeks since they took over from Amazon, and so far they have not sent me anything in the right order. A reply from their "Customer Service" just spouts the same old "Well we have to send what we have available". Amazon only did this once, and that was with some really old films that I wanted. I would not recommend these amateurs to anyone and I am already looking to switch to another DVD rental firm that is not tainted by these people Submit = Submit return link name = Back to UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Gerry from Belfast, June 27, 2008

I was originally with Amazon Rentals until they moved to Lovefilm. As a previous poster mentioned, I was not sent top priority films but only low priority films. The films I wanted to see weren't even recent or high demand DVDs. Getting low priority films does not mean you get value for money.

The design is lacking. While the site has recommendations, quizzes etc, it fails to serve its basic purpose. You can't sort films in the order you would like to see them - assuming this would mean anything if you could - and the high, medium and low categories are sorted in alphabetical order by default.

It's tough to cancel. There is no online cancellation facility. Only a number to call.

I sent emails to the customer department and instead of answering my questions they replied with stock answer that matched the theme of the question but not the context.

Following on from super amazon service, getting what I wanted when I wanted, in plastic cases that protected the discs it didn't take long to decide that canceling Lovefilm was a good move. I'll be surprised if other Amazon users stay much longer. I wouldn't recommend Lovefilm to anyone.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ian, June 26, 2008

Like others here I moved to Amazon to get away from the appalling service at LOVEFiLM. Despite voicing my concerns with Amazon when they announced the pending move, I thought I'd give LOVEFiLM another chance. BIG MISTAKE! I got an email today informing me that my account as now with LoveFilm. I logged on to find that I there were no DVD from my list waiting to be dispatched. I emailed to find out what was happening and was given a totally spurious excuse. Needless to say I then spent half an hour badgering some poor Cancellation Department girl simply to process my request to cancel my membership - she did everything but at first! If you are considering Amazon now or LOVEFiLM - Don't Do It!

Value: Design .Design: Value .Service: Service

 

Cheryl, June 20, 2008

After being a loyal customer of Amazon for five years I was 'sold' to Lovefilm last month. I couldn't access my account, then after two further problems within as many weeks, and having to call their contact centre (which was slow and poor) I've cancelled my account. Amazon was easy - everything done on the web in a five minute break. Lovefilm want me to fill out forms by snail mail and be put on hold in their contact centre - no thanks!

Value: Design .Design: Value .Service: Service

 

Reg from Herts, May 30, 2008

I too joined Amazon to escape the rubbish service at Lovefilm. Now that Lovefilm have swallowed up Amazon I've witnessed the service levels fall dramatically and am off to join Blockbuster. DVDs would be despatched within 24 hours of receipt, it now takes at least two days. Wait times used to be nil for almost all titles, even major new releases, now they're measured (literally) in months. Shouldn't the Monopolies Commission have something to say about Lovefilm's activities?

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

James, May 19, 2008

I subscribed to amazon to get away from the crap at lovefilm. Servide has been run into the ground since lovefilm took over, so I've cancelled and moved on to mymoviestream, suggest others avoid. Pity as when they ran their own service they were good. Wouldn't touch these guys with a 10 foot pole now.

Amazon, I expected better than selling out to these guys.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

Theresa from Folkstone, April 28, 2008

I have been with Amazon since outset and will be sad to see their service transferred to LOVEFiLM. Admittedly the postage slowed whilst they were in talks with LOVEFiLM but they sorted out my complaint in not time at all, and kept me informed of progress via e-mail. I still have an excellent price with Amazon for being a loyal customer.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Anthony from Yorkshire, April 19, 2008

I have been with Amazon for approx 8 months and at first the service was outstanding but within the last two months has gone down hill, in particular the speed at which they turn round the rentals, which now is significantly slower than when I first joined.

I have now decided to cancel my subscription and joined lovefilm on a free trial.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Peter from North Wales, March 11, 2008

I joined Amason in June 2007 when the number of dvds that you could have at any one time was restricted. Recently they have changed to unrestricted numbers but upto three at home at any one time with no time limit for keeping them. This really works for me. I pay 11.49 per month for 3 at home at any one time via my credit card and provided the postal system is on the ball, I have had as many as eighteen dvds in a month...just testing the system. Sadly, Amason have told its members that soon it is turning over its dvd rental to another company, one that is listed here. I note they are 4 a month more expensive so when that happens, I imagine I will move to another supplier.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Mike, March 3, 2008

probably the cheapest out there but let down dreadfully by poor quality control. I've just closed the account because every second DVD skipped and was scratched/damaged in some way. also popular rentals simply don't arrive as they don't seem to buy enough copies.

this really isnt the standard of customer service that I expect from Amazon.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Steve in Suffolk, February 17, 2008

Well, I used to be impressed with Amazon, but sadly of late the service is becoming increasingly slack. Very often I'll despatch two discs at the same time to find that Amazon have only received the one. The 2nd disc then seems to turn up a day later. Once they receive a disc, I then have to wait @ least 24 hrs before another disc is despatched - this is despite at least 5 titles on my list being highlighted as available "now". The news that Love Film is far from reassuring, so I'll be quitting their service by the end of the month to try Blockbuster.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Tizz from London, February 14, 2008

I've been a customer for 3 years, and agree that their service is going downhill. Like Neil above, I've had 4 or 5 day turnarounds recently, where they regularly used to manage 2. They claim they are deliberately waiting 24 hours to ensure people get their first choice, but it seems more likely the changes have to do with the recently introduced "unlimited" offers.

Now they have told us the "exciting news" that they're being sold to LoveFilm. Been with them, too and found them dire. They choose the DVDs from a large pool of "first choice" titles, so you never know what you're going to get (and often don't recognise the title at all). So it will be bye-bye, Amazon!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ray from Norfolk, February 12, 2008

A year ago I would have rated Amazon the tops but service has deteriorated sharply in the last few months. Turnaround is much slower and I have had to email every month recently to correct errors in my rental list. Such poor service makes me wonder if the awful Lovefilm has already quietly taken over the running of Amazon rentals in advance of the official handover.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Flossie from London, January 29, 2008

excellent service. just what u would expect from online dvd rental.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Wendy, January 25, 2008

Good experience all round, I like renting my dvds from Amazon cuz that's where I order my cds and stuff anyway.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Neil from London, January 22, 2008

I've been with Amazon Rental for over 2 years now and have become gradually less impressed with their service.

On the good side, they have a wide range of titles and seem to have plenty of copies of new titles as they come out. The ranking system is numerical which allows you to get just the order you want and the availability indication seems fairly accurate.

On the negative side, the turn-around time seems to be getting longer (the longest: 4 days from receipt to dispatch), many of the discs are scratched and unplayable (maybe 20%) and the customer service is unbearable (when they bother replying).

I've tried Lovefilm and Blockbuster previously so I think I'll try MyMovieStream next.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Sue from Manchester, January 22, 2008

hi I am one of the legion of amazon customers suffering from a very poor service.An artificial limit to the number of dvds is applied even in an unlimited package and dvd turnover interval is shocking to say the least.I would advise caution to anyone who wants to join amazon.I myself am waiting just for the month to end to sever the contract!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Sharan, January 21, 2008

hi One of the poorest in dvd turnaround taking nearly 4-5days per dvd! Its important that you do not confuse the name 'Amazon' and their service with amazon dvd rentals service'!!! Otehr slike lovefilm,blockbuster,tesco,etc should not even be compared to amazon as its extremely poor service just defeats logic! If you do not believe please do take a ride with them!Remember you were warned!

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Joe from London, January 13, 2008

Amazon used to be great. Now there is a 50-50 chance that when I receive the DVD it will be unplayable or break down half way through. Before they used to send out the next DVD almost straight away. Now they keep you waiting for days and it looks like no-one is attending to your account. And you feel you have to write them an email of complaint just to get something moving. A lot of stress and wasted time. I have just reduced my plan to 2 DVDs a month. I used to be on the 6 a month plan but reduced it to 3 a month when their turnaround became bad. Now turnaround is abysmal and it is touch and go whether they can even get 3 out in a month, even if I watch the disk straight away and return it promptly. Also, because so many DVDs won't play, you have to factor in time to get replacements. So I have been forced to reduce my plan to the barest minimum of 2 a month to see how that goes. It frankly seems a service close to complete breakdown, but I am reticent to go to ano ther rental company because I do like Amazon's method of listing and ordering of the DVDs, the feel of the site, and the ability to report a DVD that won't play straight away and get a replacement (but I do wonder whether they actually take it out of the supply chain, as I get so many bad disks). The customer service is a joke. For the past 3 months I have had to write about four emails of complaint each month, just to get a semblance of normal service. If something doesn't improve soon, I'll move to another supplier. As I say, Amazon used to be great. I expect they could be great again. But they'd better hurry up! Customer loyalty (coming from book purchases etc) only lasts so long.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Melissa, January 9, 2008

I like Amazon's smaller pay per rent-type tariffs as I don't watch many films per month and always ended up feeling guilty when I was on Lovefilm and felt I should use more of my unlimited slots. Now I watch films when I want to, one per weekend or so, and for a cheaper price, and no guilt.

Amazon is definitely the company to go with if you have little spare time but still want to watch the odd film.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Nic, January 7, 2008

Been with Amazon for 3 months had 14 days fee trial not yet been able to get 3 dvds in a month due to poor turn around.They recieved last one over 5 days ago 2nd Jan dont expect we will be fitting 3 dvds in this month either.Glad I found this site will be changing if it doen't improve.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Tony from Kettering, January 7, 2008

I started on a high note with Amazon over DEC 07, found them reasonably quick at first to post during this honeymoon "trial" of 2 weeks on unlimited 2 disks.

I did this because I wanted to come off Sky movies, which does represent good value in terms of overall movies you get, but partly as a protest to their "non free" broadband (70% of country, and no timescale / plan for rest of us because of LLU contention versus BT's 21CN, is not exactly "free" is it).
Also, you get no choice with Sky and sometimes its pants.

Its clear that the Amazon service isn't quite as optimistic as the promise might suggest, but when you break it down in terms of value for money, I guess it isn't bad on the higher plans (unlimited).

You just have to appreciate that, unlimited is NOT exactly unlimited.
The limits are quite clearly there - in the mail system and dvd process.

However I have heard this of all DVD rental service, so I really don't know if there is much point on stopping. Instead I am looking to capp my service - a shame as I was prepared to pay the 14.99 for 3 dvds at a time to Amazon.

If they can keep the turnaround to 6-7 days or less in future I might consider it.

Since receiving the next dvd is a higher perogative to its price, I've dropped my service to the 2disk 4 disk minimum and will only add extra dvds on if I want to (2 a time).

We were sitting in Satuday night, no DVDs to watch and what annoyed me was that Amazon confirmed received my DVD on Friday, but even now on Sunday, I have no status on the next DVD's just my DVD list, so they don't seem to necessarily process your next DVD on a saturday (working weekdays only?)

I wonder if mail employees watch the dvd's after us before sending them back ! (nice perk if you can get it)

I have done a more detailed analysis of my dvd received (geek)!
But there seems to be no QoS analysis of the services so this seems like a good start.
This is MY suggestion /opinion only based on my personal experience with Amazon, not a point of fact.

Dispatched Received Title turnaround
27-Dec-07 04-Jan-08 Sunshine 6
27-Dec-07 04-Jan-08 Vacancy 6
18-Dec-07 26-Dec-07 Last King Of Scotland 7
14-Dec-07 26-Dec-07 Evan Almighty 11
10-Dec-07 17-Dec-07 The Hills Have Eyes 2 6
06-Dec-07 14-Dec-07 Perfect Stranger 7
30-Nov-07 06-Dec-07 28 Weeks Later 5
30-Nov-07 07-Dec-07 Shrek The Third (Shrek 3) 6

AVG turnaround (days) 6.75
Max single DVDs per month 4.6

Limit DVDs Price per month Value per disk
2 1 3.99 2.00
3 1 5.49 1.83
4 2 6.99 1.75
Unlimited 1 8.49 2.12
Unlimited 2 11.49 1.44
Unlimited 3 14.49 1.21

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Sarah, December 17, 2007

Amazon was really good but last few months the turnaround time has become really slow- up to 7 days-making it hard to get through the 3 discs a month. I emailed them to express my dissatisfction but things have stayed the same- i would NOT recommend them.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

S from London, December 8, 2007

have also found since changing to the 11.49 per month 'unlimited' service that turnaround time is really slow so I can no longer get DVDs when I want them. I have twice asked Amazon about this and they have not replied. I plan to change to a different rental company.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Yasmin, November 27, 2007

poor turnaround service with unlimited monthly subscription

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Touchstone from Darlington, November 21, 2007

I had excellent value from Amazon on the old tariff (6 discs a month) and on the strength of this signed up on the new offer (unlimited 3 at a time). This has been a very bad bargain for the sole reason that turnround, which used to be 3/4 days, is now regularly 7/8 days. My "unlimited" tariff turns out to be 12 discs a month, max, if I watch discs day of delivery and return by first available post. I challenged Amazon to come clean about deliberate "choking" but received an evasive and irrelevant reply, quite different from previous ecellent response. I am currently waiting a reply to my second complaint, which is so far ignored. I would be glad to know if other subscribers have a similar experience - Amazon is not playing fair here.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Petecom, November 10, 2007

Almost word for word my experience was as LMs I wanted to upgrade after 2 weeks starting on a lower rate, but wanted it to start right away rather than waiting a month. Contacting Amazon to do this was difficult to virtually impossible: You have to be on-line and search for a fairly hidden button which will then have them phone you back - through a computer system which usually cuts you off. I tried to get connected so many times they barred my number for 'caller abuse' and I couldn't call again for 90 minutes. When I was able to get in contact with them, it took 3 times of speaking to someone and it has still gone wrong. There is also no way that i could find of emailling them, since their customer service email system requires an order number, like if you would if you had bought a book or a cd, and there is no order number for dvd rental accounts, without one, the email could not be sent. I finally emailled my request to Amazon's customer complaints department and
haven't heard back. I wanted to spend more money with the company, but now I'm leaving...

Having said that as long as you dont stray off the beaten track ie: order off the automated menu system in any of their departments then Amazon are very good.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Yasmin, October 28, 2007

Good service & excellent value. Amazons must better than Tescos was, plus I order all my cds from them anyway & now I get dvds as well. Very convenient and handy.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

LM from London, October 28, 2007

I wanted to upgrade after 2 weeks starting on a lower rate, but wanted it to start right away rather than waiting a month. Contacting Amazon to do this was difficult to virtually impossible: You have to be on-line and search for a fairly hidden button which will then have them phone you back - through a computer system which usually cuts you off. I tried to get connected so many times they barred my number for 'caller abuse' and I couldn't call again for 90 minutes. When I was able to get in contact with them, it took 3 times of speaking to someone and it has still gone wrong. There is also no way that i could find of emailling them, since their customer service email system requires an order number, like if you would if you had bought a book or a cd, and there is no order number for dvd rental accounts, without one, the email could not be sent. I finally emailled my request to Amazon's customer complaints department and haven't heard back. I wanted to spend more
money with the company, but now I'm leaving...

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Fiona from Orkney, October 21, 2007

Very difficult to contact anyone, they don't reply to emails. Would not recommend to anyone, no way are they user friendly.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Simon from London, August 20, 2007

Good system and fine if you only want a few dvds a month. Main problem - they don't have many copies. So titles listed as 'short wait' may not appear for several weeks. If they're 'very long wait'... buy it instead.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Karen from Manchester, 4 August, 2007

Amazon started well but seemed to have stopped sending discs out on the day they receive the last one and I have to keep chasing them to ask why they haven't sent out the next disc but they never answer that question and just tell me they're sending a new disc out that day. Not ideal to have delays in sending them out when you have a restricted quota that can't be carried over. I've already reduced my package to the lowest one and if I have to keep chasing for the discs I will be canceling my subscription altogther.

(Also frustrating that when Amazon responds to an e-mail, you can't reply to it when they haven't answered your question/dealt with the problem).

Added 22 Oct

Further to my previous review, the service didn't improve and I've now cancelled my membership and although I advised it was due to poor service, no-one has contacted me to dicusss or see if they can put it right.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Richard from Crawford July 19, 2007

had constant problems with damaged discs - maybe one in three would be damaged, with the problem only coming to light halfway through the movie. infuriating. On the plus side, they were VERY quick to post out stuff.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Charle from Herefordshire, 22 June, 2007

This would be a great service were it not for the fact that you simply do NOT recieve the DVDs that are listed as being short, long or any kind of wait for absolutely ages. Since this is the case for most good movies, it turns out to be a pretty lousy service.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Scott from London, 5 June, 2007

Sometimes it's excellent, other times its a car crash of a service. I've lost count of how many times I've had to remind Amazon to send out DVD's, and one month they kindly took my monthly payment and reset my account to suggest that I'd seen my quota of films - without ever having received one DVD. Not even an apology. Shame I can't give less than one star for service.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Stefan, May 18,, 2007

My major problem with Amazon is their description "short wait". This can mean anything up to 6 months & if your "short wait" item is top of your queue & you have already exceeded your mothly quota I suspect you go back to the bottom of the queue. Customer service is unforthcoming on this point.

Otherwise- quick delivery & wide selection.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Scott from London, April 26, 2006

After applying for the trial and card details verified still awaiting first DVD 6 days after joining. Perhaps 2 week trial period should be classed as one week and a ploy for a months subscription!! Tread with caution...

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Adam from Cornwall, April 21, 2007

Amazon dvd rental is exceptional and great value for money. No probelms have arisin since joining,And all may choice's have been adhered to,Especially the new blockbusters,which are avalible when there released,Unlike other dvd rental company's. The dvd service is quick and efficent.And the 4 a month plan im on suits me perfectly. Also you get 10% of any dvd purchase while your with the dvd rental. A truly diligent and professional company that exalts way above the rest.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Keith from Milton Keynes, April 20, 2006

I found Amazon's site to be not as easy to use as other DVD rental sites and not nearly such good value as other sites for the number of titles I watch. I was supprised by the number of titles they could not supply.

Value: Four stars .Design: Three stars .Service: Two stars

 

Ruby from Lancashire, March 30, 2007

Excellent service very quick returns backed up with emails.I was with Tesco but they leave them in the shade.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Simon from London, February 20, 2007

Everything you expect from amazon. Totally efficient and very good value. Dvds sent in the order you expect them with never a mistake.

Can't actually rate customer service in all honesty because there has never been a reason to complain! I've given it 5 stars anyway, because my that's been my general experience of Amazon. I just know that if there was a problem that they would deal with it-quickly and fairly.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Anonymous, 8 February, 2007

What else can we expect from such a good company but fine customer service and quality product. Shame it is limited dics, but considering what you would pay outside...still in truth a bargain. Though Lovefilm and Blockbuster shade in terms of value, design and customer services...I am very impressed with turnaround in dvd posting and they have a decent array of dvd's in collection. Highly recommended.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Alex from Cheltenham, January 17, 2007

In my 4th month now - Amazon stocks an excellent range of films and turnaround time is fast (next disc is usually dispatched on the same day they receive the return).
Best feature for me compared with other sites is the ability to see title availability. Discs are sent out in the exact order you specify, as long as they are available. So I always know which DVD is coming next which has been useful for planning ahead.
Only downside is the monthly cap at 6 DVDs - however I would rarely watch more than this, so it's OK for me.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Matthew from Chesire, January 15, 2007

Excellent service. DVDs arrive within 2 working days. Not the biggest selection of DVD's but they are at the right price.
Well done Amazon.
Well we see games for rent soon? I certainly hope so)

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Frank from Derby, December 4, 2006

Lovely design - you get to rate individual titles like everything else on the Amazon sites, plus you can order your choices by number. The only drawback is that you can only receive a maximum of 6 discs (not titles! discs) per calendar month, which is well behind the times. I switched to Tesco and Blockbuster DVD rental by post after a few months.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

hgaforguk, November 26, 2006

I was using Amazon before I got an email from lovefilm inviting me back with an offer of 3 months for the price of 1 - how could i resist? However i wished I hadn't, the welcome back package from Lovefilm has been all older releases - with no new titles coming into play. with Amazon you have a package which you can choose, and if you need more then simply pay as you go which I did do on a couple of ocassions.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Jim from Oundle, November 12, 2006

I've tried Screenselect and Blockbuster, but found I couldn't get through the dvds quickly enough, felt like I was losing money bu not watching them fast enough. I like to watch normal telly and only want a film or two at the weekend. So went with Amazon's 6 disc per month tariff and it works a treat, always have a film or two for the weekends, but I pay 10 quid instead of 15.

Definitely reccomend Amazon if you like to rent DVDs, but only have time to watch one or two a week.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Berndaette, November 11, 2006

Started well but then started sending wrong dvds.Tried to contact them on numerous occasions via email and letter but got no reply. Would definitely not recommend.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Steve from Huddersfield, 22 October, 2006

Apalling. I have had a very bad time with Amazon rentals. I tend to rent box sets, as DVDs drop in price so quickly that I can buy them fopr a few quid a few weeks after release. Box sets tend to stay quite expensive though. I have had many, many discs sent in the wrong order. The most recent example is as follows:

I added Sopranos series 4 and 5 to my list. I recieved disc 1 of series four and disc 1 & 2 of series 5. Not what you want. I informed Amazon and they apologised. Because of their 3 disc limit I had to send back dis 1 of series 4 before I would recieve disc 2. What did they send? Disc 3 of series 5. Now I will have to send series 5 discs back in order to recieve the rest of series 4. When I told them of their error, they said it was my fault as I had added too many box sets to my list. Apparantly, I should only have one box set at a time, as the 'order' the discs come out does not necessarily tie in with the order the discs are in. Crazy! May be good for films, but avoid like the plague if you like to rent series.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Richard from Wiltshire, July 29, 2006

Can't beat the offer - the lowest price for unlimited DVD's. Unfortunately, they don't deliver your top choices. For 6 weeks I had Narnia, Potter, and Lost Series 1 as top and all others bottom. I never got my top choices. I changed from Amazon to Tesco and am now back with Amazon. As soon as I went back to Amazon I got Narnia and Potter. Tesco has the problem that because it is unlimited it sends a DVD out as soon as you return one, so if your top choices aren't there then tough! With Amazon, because you get 4 over a month for £7.99 (2 at home at once) it means they can wait 2-3 days to get your top choice before sending it out.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Martin from Cornwall, July 14, 2006

Amazon offers a great DVD rental service as you'd expect. You actually will get your top choices 9 times out of 10, probably because they run a limited service and don't have to send so many DVDs out.

Of course, this is also the downside of Amazon DVD rental, as Mokey said, when the competition are offering unlimited DVD rental for under a tenner, Amazon's £7.99 for 4 disks per month or £9.99 for 6 disks per months isn't the best value, but good if you only watch a film a weekend or so.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Andrew from Lincs, July 7, 2006

Amazon has an excellent turn-around of DVD titles, instant sorting of problems. Odd induction period where, once your entitlement of discs has been used-up you have to wait for next calendar period before being sent further DVD titles. I'd have stuck with Amazon if they had an unlimited DVD offer. As it is, they lost my business on this count only.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Johnny from Farnham, July 5, 2006

Simply awesome service. DVD's arrive very quickly which complements Amazon's general deli every speed. The envelope the DVD discs come in doubles up as the return envelope/pouch - so Amazon are clearly being economical which is good to see and the pouches are really easy to use - simply place into any post box once you're done with the dvd.

If there is a problem with a dvd disc (rare) - then the 'report a problem' option on your rental control panel allows you to easily report any error and you get a replacement within 2 working days - and the disc you had in the first place will not count towards your monthly rental quota - you simply send it back to amazing free of charge! Good work Amazon! VERY highly recommended!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Matt from Brighton, March 29, 2006

I was quite impressed by amazon's range, and even more so by their speed of delivery, however their turnaround time is quite bad: my next film has been 'Dispatching Soon' for 2 days now.
As far as value for money is concerned, I still think that lovefilm's service has the upper hand.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Sue from Shropshire, March 2, 2006

On the positive side of Amazon rentals, the speed of receipt of DVD's is exceptional. On the negative side DVD's placed on the Short Wait never seem to become available. One of my top of list DVD's went onto the Short Wait mid-December 2005 and is still there now (March 2006). It feels as though they only have one copy of each DVD for all their customers!! This is particularly annoying when renting one of a series as only one DVD comes at a time and if the next in the series is unavailable then the whole of that series comes to a standstill. By the time the DVD becomes available the customer has forgotten what they had previously watched. Another negative is contacting Amazon - there isn't a phone number and e-mails come automated. When a reply is eventually received it is in standard jargon and does not address the issue.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Del from Kent, February 22, 2006

I've been with Amazon for just over 5 months, up until now they have provided a very good service, DVD's despatched and recieved fairly well on time, in good condition etc etc, but this last month has been a nightmare, they claim that my first 3 selections of the month were ALL lost in the post on their way to me (surely not!), they then sent the same DVD twice and then failed to replace one that I returned.

I'm hoping this is just a blip as generally speaking I like their service and I am still with them at present.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from London, February 9, 2006

The site is very well designed with excellent navigation.The selection of films is very extensive and also capture details of films which are not part of the general release cycle, e.g obscure older films. Where they do fail extensively is on prioritised film deliveries. This simply does not work and have regularly had to wait between one and two months for a priority film to be delivered. Customer service is also lacking with automated responses and feedback cut and pasted from their FAQ page.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Ron from Brighton, August 22, 2005

I've trialled DVD365 (okay), Blockbuster (bad), and Screenselect (best so far), and found amazon very good. I love the interface, as I buy most of books, cds, etc. from them anyway. They were also very quick, and I appreciate the emails saying discs had been dispatched. Can't complain about the film info and reviews, as they use the same ones Amazon does for their retail DVDs, probably the most complete ones out there. The big problem is six discs per month is not enough for me, which is why I'd rate their overal value at 3. However, this is all relative; if you're only looking for a DVD or two to watch at the weekend, then they'll admirably fulfill this role cheaper than the other comapnies, so they be a value of 5 for the low volume viewer.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

RPW, September 5, 2005

I have recently conducted a trial of the top 3 DVD rental companies and Amazon have come out by far the best. They were the only ones who consistantly sent the next DVD on my list. ( being able to see which DVDs were available was a tremendous help in compiling the list.) Their availability listing was a great help too. Turnaround was excellent and as far as I can see they are also the only company that work on a Saturday - a disc returned on Friday was replaced by Monday. I would give then 5 stars. My only quibble was that they sent the maximum number of discs out at once, which in my case was 3. This meant that when it came to returning the discs 3 were sent back at the same time. I suppose I should have retuned them individually at weekly intervals to get a better spread, but that was my only niggle. I would wholeheartedly recommend them. Well done Amazon!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Loopy from Birmingham, August 1, 2005

Am now giving Amazon a go - so far they're great - very fast turnaround time, with top preferences sent, rather than those further down the list. Only criticism is on the website - I keep hitting 'add to basket' rather than 'add to rental list' - probably me being daft but they could do with a big button for it like the add to basket one...
Also it was difficult to find the DVD rental section the first time I went to the site - not as prominent/easy to find as I would've expected...other than that very pleased with them...

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

John from Manchester, July 20, 2005

I started with Screenselect--no problems, excellent service--but I found I actually didn't have time to see all the movies, felt "guilty" if they were lying around in the house for more than a couple days, like I had to race ahead and send it back to get another one or I was wasting my money. Amazon's service has been just the trick, since your number of discs is fixed, you can hang onto them until the weekend, no worries. Plus I just plain like their system--buy all my cd and DVDs from them, and the 10% off DVD purchases is just the final kicker. So, if you're a film buff going through dozens of DVDs a month, stick with one of the unlimited services, if time is an issue, pay less and go with Amazon.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Mokey from London, June 20, 2005

Good customer service, well designed site, and a fast turnaround. A superb DVD rental list system that allows you to arrange your titles in the order you wish to receive them, and also details on the availability of titles, (availability listed as: now, short wait , long wait or very long wait), and very easy to move titles up and down you rental list. 99% of the time you will always get something in your rental list top ten.

The downside of Amazon is fixed DVD rental limits. when their competitors are offering unlimited DVD rental for under a tenner, Amazons deal for £7.99 for 4 disks per month or £9.99 for 6 disks per months is hard to stomach!

if you can live with the fixed disk rental limits, then Amazon is one of the best online DVD rental services, however if you want to get your money's worth you're better off with Screenselect.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

Caroline from Gloucester, May 10, 2005

If you only want to spend £9.99/month the 3-disc service is better than the 'unlimited' One-disc-at-a-time offers from other companies. There a 22 working days in a month and I would challenge anyone to consistently rent more than the six discs that Amazon offer. The 10% discount on DVD purchases seals it for me.

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

 

eudog, April 27, 2005

Amazon have one enormous advnatage over the competition - they indicate the status of the film you wish to order - they tell if it available NOW or SHORT WAIT LONG WAIT etc.  The result is that you know what you are getting.  I use it as virtual per movie rental service.  Also the limited insures greater available.  For example I wanted House of Cards (3 discs).  Amazon sent me disc 1, Lovefilm sent me disc 2 first!!  They also allow for multiple memeberships so for £20 I get 12 movies per month!!

Value: Value Rating .Design: Design Rating .Service: Service Rating

Return to Amazon.co.uk Review Page
 
Add Your Comments on Amazon.co.uk DVD Rental

 

Comments closed as Amazon DVD Rental has ceased to exist as an independent business.

Online DVD rental prices and terms change frequently; check the company website for the latest.

UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com is not responsible for any losses resulting from the information provided (see Disclaimer). If you do spot a discrepancy, please email us and we'll update the site.

Key Facts
UK Games Rental Guide

UK Diet Review

UK Internet Dating Guide

UK eReader Guide

UK eReader Guide

UK eReader Guide

Hotel Chocolat - Luxury delivered chocolate gifts

UK Internet Dating Guide

Flat Telly

UK Games Rental Guide

UK Diet Review

UK Internet Dating Guide

UK eReader Guide

 
HomeRental BasicsVideo Games RentalNews/LinksWhat's NewSite MapContact/Link to Us
 

The views and opinions expressed on the site are our own, and we have not been given free subscriptions, products, or other compensation to publish them. Some of the reviewed companies offer affiliate commissions, but these do not influence our reviews or rankings, which we keep open and unbiased. Our recommendations are made on the merits of a product or service, as we review based on our experience, education, and background. At our discretion we may accept third-party advertising, but this does not constitute our endorsement.

Copyright 2005-2017© UK-DVD-Rental-Guide.com. All Rights Reserved